This location was the third site of Darwin’s Post Office, after the second site was bombed during WWII, by the Japanese. The Post Office was located on this site from 1959 to 1991 before relocating to its current position on Cavenagh Street.
After the Post Office was demolished early in 1996, the Darwin Central Hotel commenced development in October 1996.
Darwin Central Hotel was officially opened on the 20th June 1997 by the then Chief Minister of the NT, Honourable Shane Stone.
The Darwin Central Hotel represents a unique, highly individual and stylish accommodation experience. The architects, under the specification of the Owning Company, designed the building to be energy efficient and to incorporate the use of local materials in the building concept to highlight our unique Territory lifestyle.
This endeavour won them the Tracey Memorial Award for Architecture and Design in 1997, demonstrating that Eco-engineering can still showcase a stylish and intimate hotel. In the same year the hotel also won the NT Civic Award for Design and was honoured with the ‘Building of the Year” title, given by the Royal Australian Institute of Architects (RAIA).
The hotel enjoys a very stylish theme with artwork and furnishings throughout the hotel, making every floor a walk through gallery. The hotel has been decorated with a diverse selection of lounges and artworks with each piece individually selected to create the boutique feel with contemporary class and style.The hotel is owned by a local Darwin Company and is proud to be a long standing Northern Territory Business.